appliance disconnection

Comments

2 comments

  • Avatar
    DougO
    There is only one program related to IMPLAN and that is the V3 software, we don't have utilities that run in the background. Two possibilities I can think of are anti-virus programs that are filtering through the files or having the appliance files/directories being viewed by Windows explorer. The implan models are Access databases and any analyses, customizing, etc done through the software are immediately saved to the database. It is unlikely that any data would be lost when removing the appliance with the V3 software closed. If you are worried about it, logging off the user id or powering down the computer will guarantee that processes accessing the appliance will be shut down first.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    DougO
    Gotten some feed back regarding not allowing the read/write cache be flushed before removing the appliance. This is a possibility - although logging off or powering down the computer will flush the cache. If you still have the issue, it is possible to tell the computer to not enable the cache for the appliance. See: http://www.7tutorials.com/do-you-want-stop-using-safely-remove-hardware-notification-icon for instructions. There are programs -notoriously, Word, that continue operations and saving files after the software has been closed, so even when the cache is disabled you would need to wait a bit before removing the device. Implan does not shut down until after any writing to the appliance is completed.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.